Special Tracks




Neural Network Applications

Special Track at
the 17th International FLAIRS Conference

In cooperation with the American Association for Artificial Intelligence

Palms South Beach Hotel
Miami Beach, FL
May 17-19, 2004

Call for Papers (pdf format)

Papers are being solicited for a special track on Neural Network Applications at the 17th International FLAIRS Conference (FLAIRS-2004). The special track will be devoted to the applications of Neural Networks with the aim of presenting new and important contributions in this area. These application areas include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Vision
  • Pattern Recognition
  • Control and Process Monitoring
  • Biomedical Applications
  • Robotics
  • Speech Recognition
  • Text Mining
  • Diagnostic Problems
  • Telecommunications
  • Power Systems
  • Signal Processing
  • Image Processing

Submission Guidelines

Interested authors must submit completed manuscripts by October 24, 2003. Submissions should be no more than 6 pages (4000 words) in length, including figures, and contain no identifying reference to self or organization.  Papers should be formatted according to AAAI Guidelines.  Submission instructions can be found at FLAIRS-04 website at http://www.flairs.com/flairs2004.

Notification of acceptance will be mailed around January 7, 2004. Authors of accepted papers will be expected to submit the final camera-ready copies of their full papers by February 6, 2004 for publication in the conference proceedings which will be published by AAAI Press. Authors may be invited to submit a revised copy of their paper to a special issue of the International Journal on Artificial Intelligence Tools (IJAIT).

FLAIRS 2004 Invited Speakers

  • Justine Cassell (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Edward Feigenbaum (Stanford University)
  • Jim Hendler (University of Maryland)
  • Tom Mitchell (Carnegie Mellon University)

Important Dates

  • Paper submissions due: October 24, 2003
  • Notification letters sent: January 7, 2004
  • Camera ready copy due: February 6, 2004

Special Track Committee (Tentative)

Ingrid Russell (Co-Chair), University of Hartford, USA

Tony Pipe (Co-Chair), University of the West of England, UK

Brian Carse (Co-Chair),  University of the West of England, UK

Jim Austin, University of York, UK

Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Serge Dolenko, Moscow State University, Russia

Okan Ersoy, Purdue University, USA

Michael Georgiopoulos, University of Central Florida, USA

Mike James, York University, UK

John Kolen, University of West Florida, USA

Lisa Meeden, Swarthmore College, USA
Sergio Roa, National University of Colombia, Columbia

Roberto Santana, Institute of Cybernetics, Mathematics and Physics (ICIMAF), Cuba

Bernhard Sendhoff, Honda Research and Development Europe, Offenbach/Main, Germany

C. N. Schizas, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Wai Sum Tang, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Stefan Wermter, University of Sunderland, UK

Hujun Yin, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, UK

Further Information

Questions regarding the special track should be addressed to:

Tony Pipe
Voice: +44-117-344-2818
Fax: +44-117-344-3800
email: Anthony.Pipe@uwe.ac.uk