Erin Striff is the Director of the Drama Minor, housed in the English Department.  She teaches dramatic literature and practical theatre courses, as well as courses on gender and creative writing.  She is particularly interested in contemporary theatre and performance.

English Faculty and Staff

Jane Barstow

Professor of English and Distinguished Teaching Humanist

jbarstow@hartford.edu

Jane Barstow teaches contemporary American and African-American literature.

Mark Blackwell

Associate Professor of English and Department Chair

blackwell@hartford.edu

Mark Blackwell chairs the department and teaches Eighteenth Century British literature, Romanticism, critical theory, Milton, Gothic fiction, and on Jane Austen.

Jennifer N. Brown

Assistant Professor of English

jbrown@hartford.edu

Jennifer N. Brown teaches all things medieval in the English department.  Her most popular medieval courses include the medieval literature survey , Chaucer, and Arthurian Literature.  She also teaches Myth, Legend and Folklore, Studies in Women's Writing, and the History of the English Language.

Robert Logan

Associate Professor of English

logan@hartford.edu

Robert Logan specializes in Early Modern Literature. His publications include articles and book chapters on Christopher Marlowe and William Shakespeare.

Charles Ross

Professor of English and Director of the Humanities Institute

chross@hartford.edu

Charles Ross teaches modern English and Irish literature.

 

Bryan Sinche

Assistant Professor of English

sinche@hartford.edu

Bryan Sinche teaches American and African-American literature. His particular teaching interests include the African-American fin-de-siècle, American autobiography, the literature of the early national and antebellum periods, William Faulkner, and Charles Chesnutt.

Catherine Stevenson

Associate Professor of English and Director of the Honors Program

stevenson@hartford.edu

Catherine Stevenson teaches nineteenth-century British literature, women’s writing, and creative writing. She is also the director of the Honors Program.

Teresa Stores

Assistant Professor of English and Chair of Creative Writing

stores@hartford.edu

T. (Teresa) Stores directs the creative writing program, and coordinates both the Cardin Reading Series and the annual departmental writing awards competition. She teaches creative writing courses and special topics courses on Travel Writing, Gay and Lesbian Literature, and Literature for the Adolescent Reader.

Erin Striff

Assistant Professor of English

striff@hartford.edu

William Stull

Professor of English

stull@hartford.edu

William Stull teaches courses ranging from the Bible and/as Literature to Contemporary Fiction.  The focus of his research is  the American short-story writer, poet, and essayist Raymond Carver.

University of Hartford

Department of English

200 Bloomfield Avenue

West Hartford, CT 06117

860-768-4315

 

galin@hartford.edu

The faculty in the English department boast research and teaching expertise in a variety of periods, genres, and critical methodologies. Click on a name in the list below for more information on a particular professor and his/her teaching and research specialties.

Donna Galin

Department Administrator, English and Honors

galin@hartford.edu

Donna Galin has worked in the English department since 1990. She is the administrative assistant for both English and Honors and can answer your questions regarding registration and faculty.