Research Interests Honors & Awards Publications Grants

Prof. Devdas Shetty is the holder of the Vernon D. Roosa Endowed Distinguished Professorship of Manufacturing Engineering at the University of Hartford, Connecticut (USA), where he is also Professor of Mechanical Engineering. In addition, he is the Associate Dean of the College of Engineering and Director of the Engineering Applications Center (EAC) at the University of Hartford. EAC is a unit of the University that works with Industries and translates funded industry research into class room experience. Previously he held positions at the Albert Nerkin School of Engineering at the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art in the New York city. Dr. Shetty is internationally recognized for pioneering non-contact surface inspection research and transferring it to aerospace and industrial applications. His work has been cited for original contribution to the understanding of surface measurement, for significant intellectual achievements in mechatronics and for contributions to product design.

Dr. Shetty is the author of two books and more than 130 scientific articles and papers and the holder of three patents. He has chaired international conferences and presented several keynote lectures. His book on Mechatronics System Design is widely used as a textbook in many Universities around the World. He is especially well-known for his contributions in establishing partnerships between the University and industries. In the last 13 years, he has established research activities in the area of design, manufacturing and mechatronics at the University of Hartford. He is the recipient of several academic and research grants upto $5M from organizations like National Science Foundation, Society of Manufacturing Engineers etc.

Honors received by Prof. Shetty include James Frances Bent award for Creativity, the Edward S. Roth National Award For Manufacturing from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineer Faculty Award, Society of Manufacturing Engineers Honor award. He is an elected member of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering, Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is the Chairperson of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, Hartford.